Named after a popular former Governor of Victoria, the subdivision of Somers began in 1925. The present general store and post office was opened in 1927.
World War 2 saw Somers function as an RAAF training base. The buildings are now a Department of Education camp, following an interim period as a migrant hostel. This beach and bush retreat boasts the highest concentration of coastal banksia in the region.
A large population of koalas also frequent the Somers area and are regularly seen in camp grounds, car parks and backyards.
The crowning glory of Somers is the 1895 mansion ‘Coolart’, open to the public, together with surrounding gardens and wetlands.